Do you agree or disagree with the statement: Many people think that athletes or celebrities that are from the entertainment business can change their careers to be politicians. Do you agree or disagree with this idea of profession change?

In contemporary society, much ink has been spilled about professional change, and some claims that athletes and celebrities that are from the entertainment business can change their careers to be politicians. Such assertion, however, is torn to pieces by others. As far as I am concerned, the statement that people with no previous political background could change their professional career to politicians is arbitrary and one-sided because it fails to take all the related circumstances into consideration. We should analyze this statement comprehensively before we draw the eventual conclusion.

To begin with, athletes and celebrities are prone to lack higher education. These people usually started their training at a very early age. Their priorities go to the professional training like sport for athletes and acting for celebrities. Not so much time is left to study. Few of them have been to college. Politicians nowadays are well-educated. The education background on their resume is fascination. For example, the previous secretary of state, Hillary, graduated from Yale, majoring in law. People tend to believe those politicians with fancy education background are able to give them a direction with bright future. When it comes to vote, people is more likely to vote for the educated candidates rather than athletes and celebrities.

Second, athletes and celebrities are not able to make the decision that will benefit the whole country. Athletes and celebrities are not able to see the big picture because of the limitation of their background, so they probably cannot figure out a way that is inclusive and beneficial. For example, some celebrities deliberately create attractive news to help them remain popular, regardless of the impact the news will have on the society. Politicians are supposed to be the role model of the people so that people are willing to be represented by politicians.

Admittedly, athletes and celebrities have more exposure under the spot. They have a lot more attention than the politicians. Their fans commit to follow them forever. However, it is a different story when it comes to politics, as a tiny little change of political policies affect people’s daily life significantly. Popularity doesn’t assure people will support athletes and celebrities as politicians. If they cannot prove their capability to lead people, no one will back them up regarding important decisions.

In brief, based on the previous discussion, the issue whether athletes and celebrities could become politicians or not is complex and needs a case by case analysis. We are not supposed to disregards those situations where the statement is unjustifiable. As a result, I can not totally agree with this statement.