do you agree or disagree student should have a broad knowledge of subject rather than focus in one academic major?

Although, there is a growing consensus that having a broad knowledge of many academic subjects is better for the professional livelihood; However, there is a solid body of evidence that casts doubt on these beliefs. Form personal perspective, I believe that it is better to specialize in one specific subject given that it gives the chance to accumulate knowledge, target accomplishment, and achieve success in one career.

Firstly, provided that students want to accumulate knowledge, they should focus in one specific major; so, they can succeed with an excellence. A survey conducted by the university of Oxford found that students who studied one specific major could earn profound understanding and got high grade given that they cannot only gain experience but skillfulness too. Therefore, students who concentrate in one major subject could have good careers and better social status in the future.

Next, couple with accumulate knowledge, target accomplishment is another reason why it is better to focus in one academic subject. Provided that people want to earn a scientific honor or invent, they should focus on studying one subject to achieve it. For example, the Egyptian scientist Ahmad Zewail, he specialized in chemical and physical technology, and was awarded a Nobel Prize for his work in femtosecond; moreover, he became the first Egyptian who earned this price in the scientific field. Consequently, people who concentrate in one academic major can target accomplishment.

Finally, since the beginning of the last decade, the job market has become so competitive. To put it in another way, doing well in a job and moving forward is very important today than before. For example, the technological engineers in the Silicon Valley who specialized in on filed such as software or hardware can promote to better positions with high salaries. As a result, set a goal in one specific field is significant to achieve career success.

Taking everything into a consideration, without a doubt specialize in one academic major has great benefits for the professional livelihood. It is suggested that schools design an educational program to help students to choose the careers they want to specialize in it.