do you agree or disagree?To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Quality of education is an important factor that affects universities ranking. Although some people believe that to improve education quality we should increase professor's salaries, my opinion is that it will not have the expected result. In my view, other main elements have more effect and university professors need other things besides salary to offer higher quality education.

A university consists of different elements that each element should work properly to system provide a good educational environment. Professors are only one element in the system and other factors like university teaching technique, students performance and university facilities are all have their influence on education quality. Without a modern teaching technique that involve students in subjects, a professor cannot convey information to their students. For example, I had problems in learning mathematics in university but after my university recruit a new professor in mathematics, he could solve my problems. That happened because he was a young professor with a new method who has an entry-level salary. In addition, when students are not enthusiastic enough to learn new material, there will be no good feedback on education quality. Finally, when the university does not have adequate education facility such as laboratories student cannot learn what they taught in the classrooms.

On the other hand, spending more money on professor's salary only increase their individual satisfaction. However, professors actually need more research budget so they can expand their research activities and as a result, can attract talented students to the university. Without this budget, professors have no other option than reducing practical research and stick to simulations which reduces student understanding on their specialty. For example, students who study basic physical particles need special labs to study these basic particles or a person who study languages should have access to a good language laboratory to practice. So, it seems other factors have a more prominent effect on education quality than professor's salaries.

It is my understanding that professor's salary plays a small part in education quality and other factors such as education method, students, and university facilities can have a more promising effect on quality of education.