Do you agree professional athletes such as the football player and basketball player deserve high salaries to be paid?

The salary is a crucial part to make people working hard. Some people may think that athletes just spend their physical strength in sports. It is not worth to pay a high salary for a player, while others argue that it will be essential for athletes’ high salaries because their outstanding skills and cooperation. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that a professional athlete should receive high salaries.

First of all, efficient training is extremely expensive for the athletes. Players spent a lot of money on training. Experts can help them gain extraordinary scores. For example, basketball players not only need field practice but also have phycology training to face the changes during their competitions. Phycological strategies can be useful to fight in high pressure. Physics and phycology are totally different fields that an athlete needs to advance. Players have to hire lots of experts to encourage their abilities to gain better scores without any sponsors. Therefore, spend money on efficiency training is necessary for athletes’ careers. Even more, after players retired, they will feedback in the sports field by high-quality coaching. Hence, if athletes deserve high salaries to be paid, their training will be exhaustive.

Secondly, professional athletes make the sports industry quite develop. The athletes’ fame will be stronger and bigger after they won the prize. More people buying tickets to watch competition and purchasing products the athletes endorsed. These will be the main incomes for the sports industry. The amount of money should be feedback on the athletes because of their far-reaching influence. For instance, the famous football player David Beckham. His fame attracted big company support his career, created his brand and football team. Lots of people focus on his personal image, buying his soccer suits and joining his fans club. These not only increase his fame but promote the soccer industry. The income from those activities encouraged him to establish a foundation to help kids in Africa who don’t have a chance to play football. Therefore, much more people contribute to the sports industry through his influence, these boosts to well circulation and advance the sports industry.

Definitely, some people argue that athletes do not deserve such high salaries to be paid. For instance, training an athlete will cost an amount of money. Without the resource from nation, it is hard to have competitive players. In addition, they may suffer from physical injury which may diminish their competitive chance. However, it’s worth that athletes try to break through their limitations and gain the amount of money, they become a coach or teacher to train new young players. Furthermore, professional athletes will attract more advertisers to invest in the sports industry. Therefore, it is indeed worthwhile that they own high salaries.