Do you agree with the statement that Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phones, online games, and social networking website.

It is no secret that, our modern era is characterized by all monumental changes that technology have made in our life. Somehow, it has made it easier for being educated person.By saying technologies, I mean cell phones, the internet, and social networks. However, these technologies cause a heated debate among academicians which is whether these gadgets help students’ education, or they are deleterious to their learning. A plethora of people possess the contention that these technologies render teaching to the students of this generation arduous. Others, on the other side, assert that not only do these technologies not make teaching harder but also they help teachers to teach the students in more efficient ways. I am of the opinion that both of the mentioned viewpoints have their own merits and drawbacks, and the following explanations will further elaborate on this perspective.

One of the primary reasons striking my mind is that these new technologies will lead the students to be more curious to learn since they could easily surf the internet for the subjects that their teacher taught them in the class. Furthermore, there is a myriad of knowledge which circulates through the social networks and a student who is in such networks exposed to this considerable knowledge. In some cases reading this matter will arouse students’ curiosity to learn. To illustrate this point, I can mention my sister experience with these gadgets and their impacts on her tendency to learn. She has a facebook account which brings her this possibility to know what is happening around her. Last week someone posted a subject about a new discovery about gravity which says the gravity is actually a wave. By reading this subject, she was more motivated to study and learn her lesson so as to understand what is happening around her. As a result, I think this fact make the teaching straightforward, in contrast to the time when I was young, as this generation are much more motivated to learn because of their exposure to knowledge.

Another equally important reason is that working with these gadgets will reduce the students’ concentration span, although the facilities like cell phones and social networks will increase the student’s susceptibility to knowledge and therefore enhance their desire for learning. They may have some disadvantages; as a matter of fact when they are listening to their teacher or studying at the home a notification from a social network, or a message can break their concentration. In this regard, an empirical study in the psychology department of the University of Tehran indicates that nowadays approximately 78% of student are suffering from a lack of concentration in contrast with the last generation. Which I think is depicting the demerits of these gadgets. Also, we can realize, from this fact, that the processes of teaching take more time these days.

To sum up, taking all the aforementioned into account, it can be concluded that in some cases, it will be fruitful to use this technology to make learning for children easier, but it also has some deleterious effects on the process of learning. All in all, it is suggested that a survey be conducted to find out more information about this issue.