Essay topics: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

In today’s world, reaching success is challenging. There is no shortage of debate about whether it’s easier to be successful by trying new things or staying in whatever people have already been familiar with. In my opinion, it’s more advantageous to stick in what they know how to do well. My explanations are as follow.

First of all, doing what we are good at is saving time. It’s time consuming to try different areas since you are likely to fail at beginning. Then it takes you more time and energy to start everything over. My own experience is a compelling example of this. My friend who is in Illustration wants to change her major to Animation recently. We are already sophomores in college, so that school requires her to retake Animation courses from the first year. So to say, she has to delay her graduation by having basic Animation exercise in her second year.

Secondly, some believe that sticking in one thing push you further in a specific field. As it’s saying “Practice makes perfect”, people who have considerably expertise are usually practice one thing over times. People will become more confident when they are skilled at a technique. For instances, I have learnt drawing and painting for over ten years. I am full of confidence due to other people’s appreciation and encouragement even though there are a lot of problems in my life. This confidence assist me to be closer to succeed.

On the other hand, taking risk and luck, to some extent, contribute to success. Some people believes that change and new experience provide us a meaningful life. When we adapted to new environment, we must face many difficulties and try to overcome them. This process builds up our abilities and personalities to achieve success.

All in all, I prefer to do what I familiar with for a higher possibility of being successful. Because it’s more productive and effective.