Essay topics: TPO-14 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today a significant part of population adheres to the idea that it is better to travel abroad than stay in a home-country. Although some people may disagree with the stance, I support it because of the reasons which will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, traveling to foreign countries has an enormous positive impact on psychological health of travelers. A vast number of our contemporaries work in corporations, businesses, government structures where a lot of attention is devoted to efficiency of employees and quality of their work. As a result, many of urban dwellers are under constant pressure which surrounded them 24 hours per day, seven day per week. In fact, spreading of cell-phones and the internet has turned our homes into offices and remoted workplaces. Traveling abroad to a place where mobile connection is expensive or unavailable is a way to relax and find your inner peace.

Secondly, globalization is a buzzword which is often used to characterize today's society. In fact, communication among countries is relatively cheap and number of immigrants keeps growing. Making a trip to a foreign country submerges a traveler into a new distinct culture, traditions, language. This friendly contact with different culture and the experience of being a foreigner in an alien country and culture may tremendously alleviate anxiety among people. As a result, it may help to fight a xenophobia which is considered to be a growing problem in modern society.

Finally, a journey to an overseas country gives many people indispensable opportunity to get new experience of a joy from living in another climate zone. In accordance with statistical data an appreciable part of today's travelers are citizens of countries with cold and harsh climate. A trip to a country which is situated near the equator and surrounded by sand beaches and a warm ocean allows the visitors to enjoy themselves. For instance, many Russians choose as a destination for their journey such countries as Turkey, Vietnam, Cuba, India because those states have a friendly climate which sharply differs from one of the home-country.

To wrap up, making a travel abroad to a foreign country has many advantages which make such trips more attractive than staying in own country.