The Essay Which of these forms of protest make the most impact, going on strike, participating in marches, or disseminating information through social media.

For years, human beings have expressed their social, economic and political discontent through public demonstrations. Many people consider that the marches are the most pertinent and viable way to demonstrate against injustice and inequality. These achieve a great impact since they in general have a significant visibility in social media.

In my opinion, there are two main reasons in favour of marches. Firstly, they are multitudinous, that is, (they) can bring together a considerable number of participants who protest for a common purpose. For example, in Santiago de Chile, in October 2019, there was a huge marche in which more than one million citizens participated. The emblematic “social outbreak” was, in fact, a reaction to the unequal economic that suffers or has suffered, a large part of the Chilean population.

Secondly, I think that the marches are the best way to impact the government since they are generally transversal with respect to age, gender, level and social class. In another march, also in Santiago, in 2011, called “penguin´s marche”, high school students, young people, mothers, grandmothers, teachers and other participants took to the streets to demonstrate against the costs and quality of Chilean education. This diversity had a greater impact than other expressions and achieved positive reforms in educational area. This march was covered by social media national and international.

Even though some marches have ended in violent acts, for me, they are neccesary to protect a real democracy. In general terms, the governments, in our case Piñera´s goverment, are afraid of the marches on the streets because these represent the voice of the people.

In summary, the marches are the most effective form of protest due they convene not only an important number but also a variety of people with different ideals and ideas but under the same goal: to be hearded. For all these reasons and characteristics, the marches attract the social media as well as are visible in social networks