The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles) is less important now that it was in the past.

It has long been a hot controversy among contemporary scientists that the extended family is losing its importance by the passage of time. As far as I am concerned, answering to this question is imperative as it deals with the family values. After serious consideration, I think the extended family was more important in the past compared to now.

The first reason that I should mention is that earlier generations had more direct interactions with each other due to the lack of telecommunication technologies. This direct communication caused people to be closer to each other so the extended family was more important. Nowadays, cell phones and television are very common tools for every home. So, in modern days, people use their mobile when they want to talk to their extended family via their modern tools. For instance, I remember when I was a kid, mobile was not prevalent like today so we were talking to each other closely. This was the reason that uncles and aunts were more important than today, because we were talking to them without e-mails or mobile applications like Telegram.

The second reason for my propensity is that the value of the family is decreasing because of the globalization. For example, talking and seeing the extended family regularly was one of the most important values of my culture. Today in my country, people are not talking to their cousins often, because they think it is not necessary anymore to have relation with them. The main reason for this change in cultural values is globalization. According to a research which was conducted by one of the most reputable universities in my country globalization is decreasing the values of the family. A prime example from my own experience may shed some light to this point. My father was a family oriented person, therefore the family including grandparents had an important role in his decisions. On the contrary, I do not think grandparents are important for my decisions making because of the new cultures that I am experiencing which do not have a great value for the extended family.

Last but not least, people prefer to care about their close family rather than the extended family because they cannot support cousins or uncles because often hard financial situations they are facing in their own life. In the past, families were more helpful to each other compared to modern families. I remember that when my uncle had some kind of problems the whole family helped him immediately. However, my generation seems to care just about their close family.

To conclude considering the above reasons, the importance of family is not like before for some aforementioned reasons.