The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

Some people might think that it is still important to have a large group of family members including grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles like it was in the past. On the other hand, I strongly believe that it is not important anymore to extend the family. This is because of the reason that having a big family is hard in the financial aspect and doesn't suit best for trend of this era.

First of all, when it comes to money, it may unfeasible to have extended family. Generally, people are not so well off because the current society has met a lot of economic crisis. In addition to this, the average quality of life has increased because people started to purchase high-end brand products, consume organic foods and live in luxurious houses. Consequently, people spends much more money than the past so that they cannot deal with the total cost of living which occurs from big amount of family members. For example, according to the research conducted by United States Census Bureau, Americans spent only $900 per person a month. However, as the average market prices and house prices increased, now they spend $1600 per person a month. As the research shows, having a large family group is unfeasible in the financial aspect.

Moreover, the mainstream idea of individuals has changed. In the past, the era of groupism, people had tendency to have a large group of family members and live under the same roof. On the contrast, now, it is the era of individualism. Individuals have more tendency to live alone or have a small group of family with only their partner and kids. To illustrate, the New York Times announced that the rate of nuclear family has dramatically increased than the past. The percentage of nuclear family was only 25% in 1950s, while it is now 67%. According to the interview of professor Jang, in Seoul National Univ on the journal, this phenomenon is attributed to the individualism which is dominant in this era.

In summation, having extended family isn't feasible due to the financial problem and doesn't suit well for the mainstream idea of this era. Hence, the thought to have a big family should be reconsidered.