The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

Controversy exists over whether the value of extended family between people. As far as I am concerned, the extended family is less important in comparison to the past because not only people do not have free time but also, the advancement of technology changed the lifestyle. In the following paragraphs, I will pinpoint my case.

The first reason worth mentioning is that members of a family (Father and mother) do not have leisure time. Nowadays in modern lives, people are forced to find a job in the industry since most of the jobs position are related to it. On the other hand, the daily expenses of people have been increased abnormally. Therefore, people are obliged to allocate a great amount of their time to work. They do not have enough free time to spend with extended family members and prefer to spend the remaining time with their own family. Hence, people have to focus a great proportion of energy on a career that enable them to supply the need of family members. For example, a person who works in a big company does not earn a high income from his job. He has to work more time in the company to increase his earning.

A furthur more subtle point is that the technology is developed. It changes some of the people's behavior and caused the emergence of the internet and cell-phone. Teenagers really enjoy new devices that are dependent on the internet. One of the most used devices in recent years by them is the mobile. Moreover, a new trend has happened which is social media. Instead of visiting other family members such as cousins and grandparents, children prefer to socialize with their friends on social media such as Instagram or Twitter. Also, with the development of technology, the artificial intelligence of video games has been improved and made games more difficult with higher quality. Children usually become addicted to this game since they are a great source of entertainment. For instance. when I was in high school, after finishing my study and assignment, instead of going to visit my uncle which loved me very much, my choice was to play games on my computer.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, the extended family does not have significance anymore due to the way people live and the development of technology.