The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

Controversy exists over whether the value of extended family between people. As far as I am concerned, the extended family is less important in comparison to the past because not only people do not have free time but also, the advancement of technology changed the lifestyle. In the following paragraphs, I will pinpoint my case.

The first reason worth mentioning is that members of a family (Father and mother) do not have leisure time and are too busy. In recent years, industrialization happened at a very fast pace. After that, the life of people changes a lot. Some of these changes had more influence on them. People had worked in environments such as societies in the past. However, in modern lives, most jobs position are related and dependant on the industry which make them very difficult with a low income. On the other hand, the daily expenses of people have been increased abnormally and because of that, people are obliged to allocate a great amount of time to work. They do not have enough free time to spend with extended family members and prefer to spend the remaining time with their own family. Hence, people have to focus a great proportion of energy on a career that enables them to supply the need of family members. For example, a person who works in a big company does not earn a high income from his job. He has to get more shifts at the company to increase his earnings to an acceptable amount.

A furthur more subtle point is that the improvement of technology happened. It changes some of people's behavior and caused the emergence of the internet and cell-phone. In the past, people enjoyed spending time with their grandparents. However, in the current situation, teenagers' habit has been changed. Instead of going out with friends or close families, they prefer to use new devices such as computers and cell-phone. One of the most used devices in recent years by teenagers is the mobile. Moreover, a new trend has happened which is social media. Instead of visiting other family members such as cousins and grandparents, children prefer to socialize with their friends on social media such as Instagram or Twitter. Besides that, the artificial intelligence of video games has been improved and made games more difficult and complex with higher quality. Children usually become addicted to this game since it is a great source of entertainment. For instance. when I was in high school, after finishing my study and assignment, instead of going to visit my uncle which loved me very much, my choice was to play games on my computer.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, the extended family does not have significance anymore due to the way people live and the development of technology.