fewer cars in the future

Since the time that cars were invented, their numbers have been consistently increasing in most countries around the world. Some people believe that this trend will continue because of the convenience they offer and the social status that they provide. However, I am convinced that the use of cars will decrease in the coming years for two main reasons.

Most importantly, the use of cars is bound to decrease in response to environmental concerns. Vehicle emissions are major causes of increased greenhouse gas and environmental pollution. Photographs of major cities of the world like Beijing, Mexico City, and Los Angeles, demonstrate the negative effects of the car culture. Some countries are encouraging their citizens to use public transportation to address this problem. For example, Spain has upgraded its old buses with electric buses, which provide not only a faster but cleaner mode of transportation. Other countries are following the same path to reduce the number of cars on the road.

In addition to environmental concerns, the rising cost of living is another factor that will result in reduced numbers of cars on the road. People today have to work more hours or find a second job in order to cover the monthly family budget. Buying and maintaining a vehicle is expensive. Even the price of a used car can be too much for a family. Car ownership brings expenses beyond the purchase price. Cars require registration, insurance, fuel, and upkeep. Considering the cost of living, many families will be forced to have only one car or to rely on public transportation.

In short, I anticipate seeing fewer cars being used because of concerns for the environment and for the family budget. I expect that innovative ideas in public transportation will be put into place in the coming years.