Food easier to prepare

Food is one of the primary necessities that we as humans have to obtain. Without food, our mind and body become frail and weak which makes us unable to perform mental and physical tasks like thinking, driving, skating, reading, etc. Nowadays food has become easier to prepare. We should ask ourselves if this development in food technology has benefited us or has it done more bad than good. Recent developments in food namely ‘fast-food’ has decreased preparation time by a very large amount of time. However, this has resulted in ill-effects like obesity, diabetes, cancer and many other diseases that can be harmful to the human body. I personally believe that as food preparation becomes faster we can spare time for intellectual activities like reading, work, research etc.

With the introduction of new technologies like the rice cooker, microwave, toaster, etc. We no longer have to spend time to get food as our ancestors once did. Humans throughout have had their primary livelihood in producing food. From the ancient hunter-gatherers to our farmers we have always spent most of our time in producing food. As food production becomes easier, less people need to be involved in the food production process, in fact we may now need to spend only about a few minutes each day in obtaining food. This shift has allowed us to move from an agricultural economy to a high income knowledge based economy. This shift gives us more time to spend on intellectual pursuits like marketing, research, sciences, etc.

As the speed of production improves we can see ourselves reducing the risk of malnutrition as scarcity decreases. All in all, I believe that improvements like these have many more positive points than negative ones. In conclusion, this is a much welcomed and positive change and it has definitely improved our lives.