If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change?

Life in Bangalore is fast paced, here time is as valuable as money. Bangalore is booming because of the software industry. This has caused a large influx of skilled immigrants into the city. Bangalore was never designed to harbor such a large population, and due to this influx, life in Bangalore has become difficult due to a single menace, traffic. Traffic jams in Bangalore can last for hours, in some places it can take 4 hours to cover just 5 kilometers.

I would advocate that we should redesign the current transport network and improve it, this would solve many issues and could also bring about economic development.

Firstly, since the immigrants who move to Bangalore are skilled and work for high paying IT companies, they are able to afford private vehicles easily. This rapid growth in vehicular population has strained this cities infrastructure. Most software companies have their campuses at the outskirts of the city. If we develop a fast moving uninterrupted highway we can ease the strain off the current roads that were never designed for such a large population. This would make it easier to move goods and services within the city and it will ease the strain of travel for the software workers as well.

The second point I would make is that a lot of time is wasted in these traffic jams. Hours at a time are lost in simply waiting for the light to turn green. This may seem like a small issue, but when we take the entire population as a whole we can see that the economic loss is very high. I believe that if we fix this traffic issue we will be able to bring about an economic change as many workers will be able to put more time on work rather than waiting in a car. These changes will also improve the standard of living for many people as right now due to the loss of time people simply go to work and come back home. The traffic leaves little time for other lifestyle activities.

Finally, I would say that it is known that an infrastructure overhaul would mean billions of dollars being spent, but this would bring about both and economic and lifestyle change that would pay off in the long run.