In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon.

Living in the modern society and technology era, we have been overwhelmed with countless benefits of the technologies. Human body like any other complex systems is influenced by various factors on which affect our health in different aspects. Consequently, there are a plethora of reasons why the average age rises among the people. In my opinion, this change is underlying on the development of medical technology and improvement in working condition. These two principal causes will be explored in detail in the following essay.

To begin with, development in the healthcare has brought numerous merits to the people’s life. At the earlier time, there were only limited devices for diagnosing diseases, especially in the first stage. Not only does the new techniques enable doctors to have a better prognostication, it provides the opportunity for the patients to get a better cure. The death rate in the recent year is believed to have been decreased due to the emergence of these improvements. My own family experience demonstrates the benefits of the technology. My grandfather, who was on the honored athletics of the city, passed away in his early 40s. He had an unknown heart issue, which was undiagnosable by the cardiologist due to the lack of advanced tools. Since the problem has not been recognized, the doctor just prescribed some drugs for alleviation the pain. Eventually, he passed away after suffering a heart attack. Were the more medical diagnostic devices to have been available, the chance of curing of the illness might have increased. This traumatic experience taught me that how medical advances can save people’s life.

Secondly, new working policies, which is becoming more widespread as a global standard in the modern countries, elevate the health condition. The policy is issued by the world health organization (WHO) in order to suggest a balance between working hours and holidays. Studies show that it has a positive impact on both employees and employers. It should be noted that the policy is strongly refuted at the beginning by capitals, they assumed that the efficiency would be inclined by decreasing the working hours, but they gradually satisfied when they realized that how the pressure on the employees has a detrimental impact on the efficiency in the long run. Unfortunately, my country, as a developing country, has not accepted the new policy and companies still consider a few holidays for their employees. For instance, my father had a few holidays, 6 days annually, besides he had to go to the office on some holidays. Although his job was really lucrative, he was not satisfied since he was always swamped with the work. These workloads have harmfully impacted upon his health and brought various ailments. These consequences are irreversible and definitely reduce the length of life.

In conclusion, I fell that improvement in medical technology and working conditions are two major causes in providing long life for people. Every healthy society should have new medical devices and follow the new policy to improve the health status.