The government should sometimes infringe on people's freedom for the security of society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recent news regarding governments’ interference in the private lives of their citizens has sparked a debate on whether governments should be allowed to intrude upon their citizens’ freedom for the sake of national security. Some people find such an idea objectionable. However, I agree that national security is an acceptable excuse for the infringement of people’s freedom. With the following essay, I will demonstrate the two reasons supporting my point of view.

To begin with, violation of a citizen’s freedom for national security is acceptable because it is meant to shield a wider population from danger. Since the beginning of the 21st century, there has been a noticeable rise in the number of terrorist attacks all across the globe. Therefore, it is imperative for government agencies to foil such attacks when they are being conceptualised. For example, since 9/11, airports have installed sophisticated security systems before allowing passengers inside the gates of the airport, and in some extreme cases, such as the airport in the Israeli city of Tel Aviv, security checks are carried out before passengers set foot in the airport. This may seem intrusive at times, but such thorough security checks are meant to protect the airport staff, the cabin crew and other passengers from being harmed during their flights.

On top of that, government agencies should be allowed to intrude upon their citizens’ personal liberties to ensure that safety regulations are adequately followed. Without proper safety precautions, people in certain jobs can easily threaten the lives of a large number of other people. For instance, school bus drivers and pilots must undergo a series of medical tests periodically. This is because they must drive or fly a large number of passengers daily, and if they have problems with their health, such as eyesight problems, they can easily put their passengers’ lives in jeopardy. Therefore, these seemingly invasive exams can earmark drivers and pilots unfit for their lines of work.

To sum up, the government’s intrusion on citizens’ private lives are meant to protect people from dangerous situations, and to make sure that people are abiding safety regulations. For these reasons, I find that governments should be allowed to infringe on the freedom of their people to guarantee society’s safety.