Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It is critically salient that students should be encouraged enough to work hard in their school. The heated debate in this regard is whether grades affect students in a good or bad way. Personally speaking, I assume that grades should not be the main factor to stimulate students to work hard. In the following essay, I will elaborate on my reasons.

First of all, a factor that should be considered as one of the most critical issues about the topic is work qualification. Despite the past, grades do not depict the person’s qualification for a job in our contemporary world. Since the variety of tasks and assignments are so vast that grades can’t represent the qualification. Take my personal experience as a compelling example to illustrate this issue. Two years ago, when I was still an undergraduate student, I have sought a part-time job and finally have found one related to my field of study. At first look, it was easy enough for me to do the tasks. Since I had excellent grades at university, I have thought that I can do that. However, the practical realm is so different from academia that I could not finish the tasks. If I had had enough practical experience, I would not have been fired for the jobs I could not do.

Second, another factor that we all should notice about grades’ effects is educators’ mental and physical health. For many students, scores have a very damaging influence and make them anxious and angry. In the long term, the effects would be even worse. Grades affect students not only mentally but also physically. It is axiomatic that anxiety has a close relationship with physical health. My personal experience is a clear example of grades’ bad influences. Two semesters ago, when I have still lived in dormant, I had a roommate with notable smartness. But the grades have aggravated his performance significantly during the exams. The gap between his performance and his knowledge was so vast that even our professor had recognized it.

To wrap it up, I assume grades are not the best option to make students work hard. This is because of two reasons. First, we cannot be sure of someone’s qualification for a job by looking at their grades which means grades are not practical. Second, grades’ bad influences on people who educate, mentally and physically.