Having a small number of friends for a long time is better for happiness than making new friends easily. Do you agree with the statement?

One of the most important parts of our life is our friends and people would have to have a proper mutual relationship. There are two main scenarios for making friends. While some people prefer having many new friends, other people would rather have a few friends for a long time. From my point of view, people should make a friend as many as they can for two main reasons. In the following paragraphs, I am going to explore them.

The first reason behind my decision is that when people have many friends, the friends would have different interests. It is widely accepted that people tend to experience different situations. They also may like to experience situations with their friends because friendship is a vital element of everyone's life. Moreover, friends have various interests and their favorites may differ from another friend. Therefore, people may undergo all situations with their friends. For example, one family may want to go to travel by train. To do so, parents can decide who is suitable for their trip because it is impossible to hold the idea that all friends like to travel. They may like travel but all of them will not like to travel by train. So, when they have a lot of friends they can call the best one. In another situation, the family may want to have a company. They can invite friends who like feast and company. If they do not have a huge number of friends, they would not be able to experience different situations. So, when people have a large number of friends, they can select the best ones for different occasions.

Another reason is that people can learn about different cultures. Everyone may have different customs related to their country, province and so forth. All of them can be experienced if people have a lot of friends from different backgrounds. For example, I am a Ph.D. student in Netherland. It has been about one year since I came here. There are a lot of students who came from different countries like China, Japan, Canada and above all Brazil. I like Brazilian because they are so happy and they give others a nice sense. All students who live here are Ph.D. students and they have to conduct some research which we are still at the beginning. I have all these different friends and every day we learn from each other about our cultures. For example, people of japan work hard. Brazilian people are so happy and wear some colorful clothes. I like to wear such clothes which make people happy. Thus, if people have a lot of friends, they can learn about different cultures.

In conclusion, friends play a key role in our daily life and we should try to have interaction with them. Having a lot of friends is a better idea because not only different interests they have but also they have different cultures and we can learn from them. So, make friends as many as you can to experience different circumstances with happy friends.