To help the first year students adapt to new college life, university has two plans. One is to offer a week orientation . The other is to ask to the freshman to meet with their senior year schoolmates regularly. According to your opinions, which plan is better?

Each university or college decide variety plans for their freshmen to adapt to their school. While some school chooses the strategy to hold a week orientation for new students, some inquire their freshmen to meet their senior year schoolmates constantly. Nowadays, these ideas are so controversial. In my view, university or college should plan to ask the freshman to make contact with their senior year students regularly. These opportunities are so beneficial for new students to gain real school life, not spend a waste of time by a week orientation, and achieve more variety aged friends.

First, students are able to acquire the basements of their real school life. The students who spend their school life for more than one year have the knowledge of how to conveniently manage their classes, clubs, and dormitories. For instance, one new freshman does not know exactly what classes he does not feel boring. One day, he had the situation to ask his senior schoolmate who had the same major compared with his. Thus, the friend advises him that he should take one of the most intriguing lectures.

Secondly, it is a waste of time for the freshmen to spend one-week orientation. They can use their time more flexible instead of orientation. For example, some students have to take their time for their homework of lectures in college and university. If they miss exactly the deadline for the homework and do not have enough time to concentrate on the homework, their grade will gradually fall down. As a result, it is so hard for them to earn sufficient money and live comfortably in the future. Therefore, schools should not establish the orientation based on a week for their future.

Finally, freshmen can have opportunities to acquire diverse aged friends from senior students. Their ideas will be limited if students only have friends who also are freshmen. Take myself as an example, I hanged out with friends who are the same age as me when I started my new school life at university. One day, I came up with the ideas that I applied to the staff for the festival held at my university. Therefore, I had more situations to contact with the mature students who are older than me. This time was so unforgettable memories for me because one of the staff gave me the ideas that I decided to go to study abroad.

To sum up, I surely believe that university and college take freshman opportunities to contact with senior mates constantly. Freshmen can absorb exactly school life from senior students, use their time more flexibly, and gain wide aged friends.