A high school plans to ask their students(aged 16~17) to choose an activity to do during the summer vacation between the 11th grade and 12th grade. Which activity do you think is more beneficial?

1. Attend weeks of university-level courses (for example, a course related to the major field they are interested in); or

2. Visit museums and historic places with teachers and other students and then write a paper on it. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do NOT use memorized examples.

The summer vacation between the 11th grade and 12th grade is fundamentally different from the previous summer breaks. Frankly, it is like the intersection of students' life. In this period of time, students must think thoroughly about what to do after graduating from the high school. Some may have already developed their interests, while others remain confused when it comes to this tough alteration. As a result, I believe that if students attend weeks of university-level courses during the summer vacation, they can benefit from them.

First, these unique courses are instrumental to students' future life by helping them explore or ensure their interests. For example, many Asian students pour most of their time into study so that they don't even know what to do in the future. To deal with this issue, various fields of university-level courses will definitely inspire them and therefore cultivate their interests. As for those who have known their own interests, they still need to ensure their interests by taking these university-level courses because they will not want to take risks in expending four years into fields that are actually monotonous to them when they surprisingly realize it in the universities. As a result, university-level courses in the summer vacation are significantly helpful for high school students to explore or ensure their interests.

Second, high school students can be more prepared to university life by taking these courses. University life is in fact blurry to high school students. They can solely picture it from others’ description. Yet, university-level courses are the solution. For instance, high school students will be more familiar with different teaching styles of professors. Some professors would like to explain every single detail of the topic but speak in a fast pace which students can hardly follow. Others invariably love to make students to think by giving a list of questions before class. Moreover, high school students can learn from how to manage their time wisely and efficiently to submit assignments in time in the summer vacation. In conclusion, through enrolling in university-level courses, high school students are able to know the exact life of university and therefore prepare for it.

Irrefutably, some may argue that visiting museums and historic places is also meaningful. True, students would probably learn the culture, history and critical thinking by writing a paper. However, what is the most urgent and vital is that these high school students have to be determined to their future purposes. That is, it is attending weeks of university-level courses that is conducive to high school students’ prosperous future.