High school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

One of them most important era in anybody’s life is the time of high school which will prepare student in more necessary aspect of life. Therefore, teacher’s role will be considered so prominent, and their way of teaching plays a dominant role in student lives. A controversial question which has always been the center of contention and brought up heated debates is whether teachers involving their students in class while teaching or not. Although some high school teacher spends most of class time lecturing while the students listen and take notes, others spend most of class time on debating and discussion while students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. I found the second idea more fruitful. In what follows I will try to provide some reason to support my statement.

First and foremost, nowadays in this modern era, Teachers are the one who treat students for future life, not only it will have consequences on students’ lives, but also, it will be playing an undeniable role in society. Student should have the power of debating and discussing about statements which they are involve in. They should be able to express their idea in a way that it can help the community they will be interacted with, and the best way to learn these skills is in the school. Whenever teacher say some statements, they can discuss about it and learn how to be agree or disagree with the idea expressed. Student can also learn how to speak in front of group of people and discuss in a way that does not hurt anybody. As a supportive case to my point, a study has been done with group of researchers in a social behavior clinic which involves ten group of students in different schools with two different mentioned method of teaching. They consider these groups of students about five years, and they found that, group of students which had involved in the class were more successful.

The equally important reason is that, teachers will be more effective when their students sending feedback to them. When ever teachers be aware that their student are listening to them carefully, they are more careful to not say something, therefore it will improve class. On the other hand, when student discuss about the statements in class and ask questions, the question will help another student to understand better. For instance, I am going to write about an experience of myself. I was a lecturer in a workshop a bout technology and the students were in two groups. For the first group I just talk and do not allow them to discuss at they just take notes, and for the second group I did vice versa. At the end of work shop I took a quiz about the statements in the workshop and result was much better in group of students that allow to discuss in workshop.

In conclusion, considering the mentioned reason above, it is better to say that discussing around statements in class in high school help students to learn how to express their idea and it also help teachers to give feedback from student and improve their way of teaching.