If you could study a subject that you have never had the opportunity to study, what would you choose? Explain your choice, using specific reasons and details.

There are numerous subjects in which I am interested. However, if I am compelled to choose only one subject it would definitely be data science. Data science is an emerging field which finds its applications in numerious fields ranging from engineering, business to medical fields.

Every year about 80 million people lose their lives in the car accident across the globe. However, using data science it is possible to reduce this colossal number of deaths. By Using machine learning algorithms, we can incoprate microprocessors and micro-controllers into cars which would guide the driver and thereby reduce the chances of accidents. Furthermore, many electric motor companies like Tesla have already these implemented these machine learning algorithms in their cars due to these vehicles are able to drive themeselves independently requiring very little human intervention.

Also, data science is playing pivotal role in medical field. It is possible to apply the concepts of data science in building an autonomous robots which are capable of perfoming complicated surgeries. IBM has already developed such a computer which is capable of detecting eye blindness at very early stage. Thus, it would be possible to prevent eye blindness if the problem is identified at an early stage and rectified using appropiate remedies. Application of data science can also be extended to solve other medical problems such as determing the chances of heart attack and accordingly warning the patient for the same.

Data science can provide impetus in solving complicated mathematics problems quickly which would otherwise have taken couple of years if it were solved manually by humans. For example, NASA is already using science to develop self learning alogorithms which would solve complex mathematical problem by performing multiple iterations untill the desired the result is achieved. Thus the arduous task of carrying CFD simulations is reduced from few days to few hours.

As illustrated above, the scope of data science is very broad can be used in multiple aspects of life. Therefore, given an opportunity I would prefer to study data science.