Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do? 1. Interrupt and correct the mistake right away; 2. Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader; 3. Say nothing.

A lot of people hate being interrupted while they are speaking. But when giving a lecture in a classroom, or being a leader in a meeting, is it best to interrupt the teacher and correct the mistake or to wait till the class is over? Some students think it is best to talk to the teacher after class so that they don’t embarrass the teacher and make it inconvenient for them, moreover, others prefer doing nothing. However, I think it is better to interrupt the teacher, in a respectful way, and fix that mistake.

First of all, a good a well confident teacher would appreciate the student’s attempt to fix the mistake and think of it as a chance to develop. As a teacher assistant in the University, I always encourage the students to speak out if an unintentional or even an intentional mistake was made stating “all of us make mistakes that we should learn from even the most famous inventors made their inventions from a mistake. “For example, Faraday wanted to prove that we could induce continuous electricity from a continuous magnetic field, but no matter how much he tried he couldn’t accomplish that until he accidentally turned off the switch and he finally noticed some current flowing in his Avometer, a device that measures current. So you can see from a simple mistake he managed to make an invention and thanks to that invention we have electricity today. In comparison, when a student points out a mistake, a good teacher will take it as an opportunity to evolve instead of being ashamed of it.

Second, it shows that the students are focusing and evolved in class, which means they are learning. The best moments in class when I teach are the moments challenge the teacher and think for themselves. For example, in electronic and measurement Lab, I give the students the results I measured from the experiments and I challenge to do make the same or better. And the students were on fire, it was so fascinating to see how excited they were to beat the result I wrote on the board and they actually never forgot those days I challenged them in and thus, they’ve learned. So, back to our topic if or when students point out mistakes it means they know the right answer which makes them more active in class. Moreover, when a student points out a mistake in-front of the whole classroom it actually gives the teacher the chance to fix it while it is still fresh in student’s mind. So when this information comes on the test they will write down the fixed answer. All in all, there a lot of examples show that it is beneficial to the students to be active in class even if it means to mistaken the teacher.

In conclusion, although a lot of students prefer not to talk about the teacher’s mistake in-front of the class room because it could be disrespectful to the teacher, I disagree. I believe that pointing out these mistakes are both beneficial to students and the teacher. Teachers are not perfect human beings and they could make mistakes sometimes, and it’s the the duty of the rest to help each other to get the most benefit.