Imagine you need to improve your performance in order to get better grades or higher work payment which way would you choose?

1.doing more extra work or assignments that are required

2.participate more actively or contributing your own idea more frequently in the group discussion

In this society full of competitions, locating more appropriate ways to update the achievement in study or work challenges everyone. Some prefer to finish extra tasks in order to improve their performance. However, after weighing the pros and cons, I believe that, to get positively involved in groups is the better choice.

To begin with, an active participation in the discussion is more likely to motivate a student or an employee. Presenting one’s ideas in front of a group of people, which requires various skills and sufficient preparation, is comparatively more and challenging than doing an assignment alone. More aspects need to be considered during the preparation, like how to convey the ideas vividly to intrigue everyone and how to respond to different opinions. One has to challenge himself or herself all the time in order to get the flawless plan. Also, being part of a group makes it almost impossible to procrastinate, as there are more responsibilities and pressure at the same time. As a result, one is more likely to invest a lot of time and energy in a group presentation. For instance, my classmate Zoe was an average student, who got passing scores in exams and almost never actively expressed herself during the class. She spent most of her time hanging out with friends or working on her hobbies. Ten years ago, she followed her parents to the US, where she encountered a completely different way of learning. At first she found it quite hard to accept. She told me about all the class discussions, which was a torture for her every time. After getting very low scores for some courses, she realized she had to make some differences. She started to spend hours preparing her presentations and the results were quite rewarding. As time went by, not only did her GPA get better, She got improved in communicating with others and got motivated in every dimension. That transformed her completely. Zoe received an offer from Columbia University and became a successful psychology professional.

In addition, confidence, which is essential to get better scores or salaries, is more likely to be built during every positive group contribution. Tough the preparation process is challenging, the result can be quite enlightening and enjoyable. The more difficult the task is, the more sense of fulfillment it can bring afterwards. A confident person is more optimistic towards everything, and so stands more chance to find the appropriate solution and achieve the goal. What’s more, confident ones are more charismatic, who get more attention and thus get more opportunities. My two colleagues Will and Mark were classmates from UCLA. They entered the company at almost the same time, serving both in the market department. Will is the quiet type, who always works silently on his projects, while Mark is more willing to express his ideas during discussions. Will becomes more introverted and reserved with his own ideas. Though he is very good at this work, he seems invisible and insignificant. Mark, however, gets more confident and positive every day. He obviously gets more good ideas all the time and our boss always turns to him when there is a tough job. Finally Mark got promoted as the manager and received a higher payment.

Admittedly, finishing a task on your own is relatively easier to realize since not everyone is very comfortable to share his or her ideas in a group. Someone is too shy to speak in the public. Someone does not know how to express his or her ideas. However, we should not set limits for ourselves. The capacities of an individual can be promoted greatly when pushed to the extreme. When confronted with problems or dangers, we can always surprise ourselves by what we can achieve. In conclusion, to make a positive contribution in a group, which is more challenging, seems a more beneficial way for students or employees to improve their performance.

To sum up, I strongly support that actively participating in a group discussion carries more merits than doing extra work. For one thing, it provides more motivation in general. For another, it is conducive to the development of confidence.