Imagine that you own a company and that you are interviewing people who applied for a job at the company Three candidates applied for the job Which ONE of the three candidates below would you choose to work at your company Why would the candidate be the b

Over the past decades, thanks to the rapid development of society, an increasing number of people started to be concerned about what type of candidate a company would choose. Each company has its own requirements for employees. Some need creativity, and some need passion. If I owned a company, I would prefer to hire the candidate with the most experience.

First, the candidate with the most creative ideas is not helpful in most careers. Most jobs do not include a part where the workers need to be creative. It is more about managers telling workers what to do or the employees having a specific task each day to complete. There is no space for them to be creative, except in jobs such as game design or photography. The majority of the workers are not given any chance to be creative. As a result, HR would probably not choose a candidate who is creative for a job, such as a mechanic and production line worker.

The candidate, who is most motivated and enthusiastic about working, is not the best option either. Their passion cannot ensure their work efficiency. Although they can be extremely energetic about everything on the job, they can still turn in every piece of work after the deadline. This is mainly caused by their unknown skills. For example, a programmer can work for five hours straight, but he does not have enough knowledge to support his idea and work. He wants to use a new tool that is still in beta version, and he does not even know how to try it or test whether it fits his need. These details or problems he faced would lower his working efficiency even with the longest working time.

Finally, the candidate with the most experience can have perfect problem-solving skills and less training fees during work. Since they have a lot of experience, they probably worked in a similar job before. Thus, they can skip most of the “tutorial” part of the job, where newcomers get familiar with the work they need to do and learn new tools led by the old workers. The company can save a significant amount of money on this. They could avoid the training fee and keep experienced employees in their position instead of teaching the newcomers. Additionally, with experience, most of the obstacles they faced could be solved quickly. As a result, they are more profitable than creativity or passion.

In conclusion, a candidate with experience can cost less money and stable working efficiency, while a candidate with creativity is not useful in most circumstances, and passion does not ensure the completion of their work.