Which one do you think is the most useful to improve our environment 1 Walking or bicycling to reduce driving 2 Only consuming organic food reduce pesticide 3 Reusing wastes

Over the past decades, thanks to the rapid development of environmental issues, an increasing number of people started to be concerned about the most useful method to improve people’s environment. Although some people think that reusing waste and consuming organic food are efficient methods, I think that walking or bicycling to reduce driving is more practical.

First, organic food for reducing pesticides would reduce the production of the food and have a higher price. Since no fertilizer is used during the process of organic food, the production that used to be boosted by the chemical components is reduced. The practice of no pesticide for organic food would also affect the production of plants since plants have a higher chance of being eaten by insects. Overall, the production of plants can be strongly affected without fertilizer and pesticides. Due to the low production, the price of organic food is usually ten or thirty percent higher than regular food. This is usually not affordable for a family over a long period of time.

Secondly, reusing waste is not practical for everyday people who do not have specific knowledge. Since the recycling system, including sorting, cleaning, and transporting to the special place, nowadays is not fully developed, most people need to learn where to recycle each type of waste, such as the battery, plastic, or old electronics. The lack of knowledge makes recycling waste extremely difficult for most people. They may forget to clean the remains in their aluminum bottles, or they may consider button batteries as recyclable. The action of misplacing the waste would be counterproductive to the goal of improving the environment.

Finally, walking or biking for reducing driving is a good vehicle for normal people to reduce the emission of harmful chemicals. First, the only equipment they need is a bicycle to accomplish this goal, and this equipment can last for a super long time if it is not destroyed. With less driving, people can reduce the amount of carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide their vehicles produce. Especially in urban areas, when people arrive at the nearest subway station near their destination, there is always one to five km left. It is time and energy-consuming if people are walking to the destination, and the only other option is a taxi which is not profitable and time-consuming. With the sharing bike option available, the needed time can be significantly reduced, and they are suitable for the environment.

In conclusion, organic food is expensive and low in production; reusing waste is not practical for common people; walking or biking is beneficial for the environment by reducing carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide produced by vehicles.