Independent essay
Making new friends thoughout all spehere of life is indeed part of human nature. Although some
believe that maintaining bond with old friendsis imperatuve, but I think to make new friends
is more important for few reaons help in emergency and exchange plethora of knowledge:
First,adding new friends to the network is crucial in case of harsh cirumstances as
suggested by famous proverb "that friend in need is a friend indeed." My own personal
experience is compelling example of this. When I came to United States to pursue my
futher education in Masters of Business Administration in health care in the year 2015,
I hardly knew anyone in Findlay Ohio. One day when I went to my university library I
saw native american girl sitting over there, I went to talk with her. Fortunately, we
talked on daily basis as she was genuine and became good friends. All of a sudden one day
I was experiencing severe abdominal discomfort, being anxious I called her to reveal my
problem. She reponsed immediately, and came to my home to take me to hospital. Because of her
I was provided with prompt medical attention and my symptoms subsided and disappeared. As a result, she saved my life and our friendship became strong. On the other hand, my
old friends mostly are from overseas countries they can not help me in this critical condition.
Second, making new friends who are different from us open up oppotunity to learn. As,
discussion with new friends help to barter information and thereby enhancing knowledge.
For example, when I arrived in United States local idioms and phrases used in communication
were new to me, I have never encountered a situation where I need to use native slang before. Attending university allows me to make new friends and involve in discussion with them during
class especially. Daily intereactive question and answer sessions during classes helped me to
learn wide variety of vocabulary, phrases and idioms thus I started communicating with confidence with professors. Thus, making friends from different origin sets stage for me to expand my horizon
and reduce language barrier.
In conclusion, it is certainly true that making new friends bring concrete benefits in someone's life. It is worth saying that, new friends.