The internet means that people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live.

Do you agree or disagree?

The internet is one of the greatest inventions of the twentieth century. Thanks to modern technologies, you can find nearly everything there and explore the planet in detail without even leaving your bedroom. Billions of people were not allowed to travel abroad this year because of the threatening virus, so all of them spent their vacation at home with the internet. And, according to the experience of lots of people as well as my own practice, the internet, probably unexpectedly, turned out to be a fantastic service for learning the way people live in other countries.

Needless to say that nearly everybody on the Earth has access to the web, so the latter contains an enormous amount of information about every place on the planet. And the database becomes even fuller every day because anybody can publish whatever they want on the internet, so more and more pictures, books, paintings, and other great works of art become accessible there. Consequently, it becomes easier and easier to get information about even the furthest places in the world. For example, using data from the web, during the last month, I have learned a lot about living in different countries in Oceania. I do not think I would have ever gone there by myself, but the internet provided me with the ability to learn their culture, which appeared to be very interesting.

Even more, there are lots of news websites on the internet that also provide information about how people live abroad. It is always interesting to keep track of significant political and social events happening in adjacent, or probably even distant, countries. For example, all the world has recently been following a very internationally important event of presidential elections in the US. Definitely, it would be nearly impossible to get so many different points of view, so many various pieces of information on what was happening there without the internet.

But there is also a suggestion that the internet cannot provide you with precise information. Even though it has millions of gigabytes of data, it is impossible to convey emotions and feelings even through a video with the greatest possible quality. Probably it is true, but I am sure that the internet can teach you a lot about how people live abroad even without providing you with the feelings of native people. You do not necessarily need to perceive emotions to comprehend how people live.

To sum up, even though the internet has some disadvantages that are not yet eliminated by IT-giants, it is a great resource to get information about everything and, in particular, about how people live all over the world. So, it would be an impudent lie to disagree with the given statement.