It is better to have lots of friends than it is to have just a few friends

Friends have always played an important role in the life of each individual. Personally, I believe that it is better to have solely a couple of friends. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, having only a few friends enables the person to get to know them very well ,and therefore ,develop stronger relationships with them. In other words, when you have many friends it is more difficult to determine who of them is reliable and who is not. However, when you are surrounded only by a couple of friends you can be sure that all of them are trustworthy. For example, several years ago, when I was still in college I had numerous friends. In spite of the fact that they were plenty, when I seeked for support during a difficult time most of them disappeared so as not to me. On the other hand, as I got older, I started to have only two or three friends. Nevertheless, when I was desperately seeking advice since I could not solve a personal problem on my own all of them helped me. As a result, I realized that it is better to have some reliable friends rather than numerous friends who cannot be trusted.

Secondly, the fewer friends someone has the less distractive they are. To be more specific, when you are friends with many people at the same time not only will you be required to dedicate more time to talk to all of them or to be with them in general but you will also have more people bother you. As a result, you will be unable to concentrate on the important tasks of your everyday life, such as your work or studies. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Back in my student life I used to have so many friends that it was hard for me to even retain the names of all of them in my memory. Needless to say that I always had someone call me or invite me to attend a party or some other kind of event. Consequently, I was unable to focus neither on my assignments nor the upcoming exams and I neglected my studies so as to spend time with my friends which resulted in my failing to graduate in time.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that having only a few good friends is more preferable. This is because it makes it easier to develop mutual trust and there will be fewer people to disturb and distract you.