It is better to marry someone who is similar to you, rather than someone who is differnt from you.

A marriage is a bond between two human beings. A bond that is destined to last entire lives. It is a pledge to be together in times of joy and grief. Essentially, a marriage is a symbiosis of two human beings that like each other. Personally, I do not think that the person you're marrying should be similar to you. I think it's better to marry someone you like, rather that someone who's just alike.

Firstly, marrying someone similar to you does not make the person naturally compatible with you. For example, say, Mr. X likes to play video games during the weekends and wants Mrs. X to take care of the household chores. But, if Mrs. X is similar to him, she would in turn expect the same from her husband. Such a situation would mean, that no household chores get done and both would disapprove of their significant other's behaviour. This might be a very simplified example, but I hope it explains the point. Similarity doesn't mean compatibility. Ideally, it would be better if Mr and Mrs X, could be understanding of each other and both took turns to finish the work.

Secondly, there is always a chance of a person changing overtime. Marrying a person similar to you will not be beneficial in any way as there is no guarantee, that their behaviour will be similar to yours over the period of time.