It is better to spend time with one or two close friends than with a large number of friends.

Some people prefer to spend time with one or two close friends than with a large number of friends. However I prefer to spend time with a large number of friends rather than with one or two close friends for the following two reasons.

To begin with, it is easier to develop deeper connection with a small number of people. A new study published that it takes about 50 hours of time with someone before you consider them a casual friend, 90 hours before you become a real friend, and about 200 hours to become close friends. In these days, most of people are very busy that we need to choose and concentrate on a small number of friends. To be specific, I usually meet a small group whenever I have a free time after finishing my work. We can meet once or twice a month at best because we are all busy for working. For this reason, I agree with the statement.

Furthermore, when we going out with only a few friends, people tend to feel more comfortable in a small group. It is more easier to make a meaningful conversation. Having deep, engaging conversations needs to be a part of life because it allows us to connect with others. Thus, it results in a deeper happiness. For instance, whenever I have a problem in my life, I used to talk with my best friend for a long time. This is a great way to connect with someone when I do not really know them. It can help drive a connection between both of us because the I may believe that the person i am talking to genuinely cares about my well-being. Thus, I agree with the statement.

To sum up, I agree with the statement for the following two reasons. it is easier to drive a deeper connection with a small number of people. Also, people tend to feel more comfortable in a small group.