It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

There are many definite advantages and disadvantages associated with learning from direct experience, and from through reading books. In my opinion, the knowledge which we gain from our worldly experiences is more important than that which we obtain from printed sources. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, books are not always accurate and often contradict what we can find in the real world. This is a result of the fact that books are often written by unqualified authors, but also because even respected and trained academics are subject to their own biases and personal shortcomings. If a diligent professor writes a book with the best of intentions and tries to avoid factual errors, his research might be faulty as a result of significant shifts in world affairs. My own experience visiting the Middle East several years is a good example of this. Before I took my trip, I read a great number of textbooks, articles and guide books about the region. All of these informed me that the Middle East was a very conservative and religious place, and suggested that the people there might be unwelcoming. However, when I got on the ground, I found a very welcoming, progressive culture. Through the books I consulted was only a few years old, they were wholly out of date and did not match my personal experience. This example demonstrates some of the problems with depending too much on books for our knowledge.

Secondly, we can recall something easily if we gained it from our experience. We learn something from our society when that moment or event has a specific impact on us; as a result, we can remember that for a long time. On the other hand, when we read a book we are not able to make a vivid picture of that matter in our mind; thus, we forget that topic within few days. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I remember what was happened to me at my high school when I abused one of my friends. My class teacher insulted me for that bad behavior and asked everyone not to talk to me if I did the same thing next time. So, from that day, I have never abused anyone in my whole life because of that experience. However, I read a lot of books about how to speak well in front of other people, but I can't able to recall that stuff when I need them to use. Therefore, personal experience has a good influence in our life as we can use them in our daily activity.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that knowledge gained from experience is more important than knowledge learned from reading materials. This is because books are sometimes incorrect and because our memories stay with us longer than the facts we read about the print.