It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

In most countries, the average workdays are five days a week. In this regard, some individuals believe that it is better to work in shorter days with longer working hours, as they can work only three days a week with longer duration instead of working five days a week with shorter time. I, personally, both agree and disagree with this viewpoint due to several conspicuous reasons which will be elaborated as follows.

On the one hand, three days working makes a lot of free time for people, in which they can learn new things or spend more time with their families. Although individuals can use their time after short working hours, most of them are tired and cannot focus on a particular subject, comprehensively. Also, their leisure time limits to only two days, which leads to decline to be vigorous. An example of this is my father, who is a physician. He used to go to work five days a week, and during weekends he did not have enough energy to devote for his family. Now, he decided to change his schedules and decrease his working time into three days a week without rest. His decision has a good effect on our lives, for we can spend more pleasure time together. Therefore, it is beneficial for individuals to work only three days a week for long hours.

On the other hand, most of the employers believe that long hours working decrease their employees’ efficiency, drastically. In this situation, the rate of dissatisfaction consumer (demand) rate may increase which is has a negative effect on costumers’ viewpoints. Imagine that a nurse has nominal mistakes in his/her job, which may cause irreparable damages for patients. Consequently, five days a week working with shorter hours is better, because people do not have to be in a stressful situation not to make any mistakes.

All in all, there are several remarkable reasons to reveal the positive and negative impact of this decision. I believe that longer working hours with shorter days in a week has a lot of pros and cons. Therefore, I described some of the advantages and disadvantages of this decision for a system in the aforesaid paragraphs.