Is it more enjoyable to work only 3 days a week for short hours or to work 5 days a week for longer hours?

Opinions vary on what kind of working schedule is more appropriate, 3 days a week for short hours or 5 days for longer hours. While it is tempting to view the latter as less complicated, in this we should be cautious. After all, the former arrangement seems to foster loyalty and productivity.

Despite the fact that reduced working hour schedule seems to be more advantageous, it still has several shortcomings. The amount of work to be done almost doubles, which means that the work will require more effort, and personnel will be overwhelmed with work and may get exhausted. This may result in low efficiency and poor output. For example, oftentimes employees are laid off because they fail to handle the workload and work seamlessly. The example above allows the conclusion that short working schedule is not always beneficial.

Nonetheless, because of the shorter work schedule, people who work in business will be more loyal to the company they work for as it gives them more time to spend their spare time to rest. For example, when a friend of mine worked for a company called People Talk, the employer allowed him to return to this working arrangement. Because of this, my friend was able to spend more time with his family and friends. This means that many companies that are interested in their business efficiency would offer their employees the choice, thus being more lenient towards employees.

Equally important, the attractiveness of work means that employees will be more involved in the work as the company respects their interests and demands. For instance, my father worked for a long time as Deputy director of the Department of Education of the city of Moscow and because of this, he understood how much work is needed to prove himself as a highly qualified specialist and expert. But the head of the federal service department gave more time to rest, but my father did not relax and tried to give everything according to maxim. From this example we could generalize and say that employees will also leave the headquarters and stop being carried away by the intensity that their work has given them.

To sum up, it appears that both working arrangement have advantages and disadvantages. However, I believe that employees need to choose a job that will be suitable for their own priorities, as there will be no point in working except for the money, if the person does not like it.