It is more enjoyable to work for three days with longer hours or to work in five days with shorter hours. Do you agree or disagree?

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world where we live, human beings have been preoccupied with their careers in order to keep pace with the unforgiving economic pressure that exists in todays modernized world. In this regard, while some people prefer to work consecutively for five days with shorter working hours, other stands at the other side of the continuum, believing that working for three days in a row with longer hours is a better alternative for them. As far as I am concerned, I prefer to work for fewer days with longer hours. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, working for three days a week with longer hour, although seems difficult in the first glace, is beneficial since it provides the person with the opportunity to take advantage of their other empty days. To be more specific, when a person works only for three days, it means that he or she will enjoy the freedom of the rest of the weeks. Not only can the person engage him or herself into various activities, he or she can follow their dream and not to be restricted to their working hours. A personal example can drive this fact home. While I graduated from the university, I was being offered two types of careers. The first one was a translator vacancy at the museum, with three days working long hours, and the other was teaching English to children for five days with shorter hour. At first, it was such a dilemma for me and I was struggling to make a sound decision. Having consulted with my older brother, I chose the first job in which I had to work only three days. Although I was exhausted after three days, it was really beneficial for me since I participated in piano class which was my long-lasting dream to be a pianist. If I had chosen the job which was extended during the week, I could not have participated in the piano class and I had to sacrifice my dream for the job.

Moreover, if a person works for three days for longer hours, he or she will be more productive in his or her job. To put it in other words, when a person involves in a longer hour task, his or her mind will flourish and blossom. As a result, this mental flourishing will lead to a more productive work. As an illustration, I used to work for an entrepreneurial enterprise for more than five years. The job did not have a flexible working hour and I had to work five days a week from 7 A.M to 2 P.M. Although the time hours were short, I was wearing on with the passage of time because I was obligated to work for five consecutive days which was excruciating for me. It was at this time that I realized, my life was become routine and I cannot come up with creative ideas in my workplace. I was not as productive as I used to be when I first started working. Having changed my working hours from five days a week to three days a week, my working strategy, and working efficiency have improved drastically.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I do believe that working three days with longer hour is much more beneficial and effective than working five days with shorter hours. It will be effective since it will lead to the productivity of the person and it also provides the opportunities for the individual to be engaged in different activities besides working.