It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation

This is the argument about which infrastructure governments should put priority on. It is undeniable that public transportation system is crucial as a basic infrastructure, I believe that internet access is important as well. Therefore, I prefer to put money on the internet. I have two reasons and I will explore my reasons in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the internet has played a pivotal role in our societies because of its convenience. Take an example from our everyday lives. When we want to buy an air conditioner, we search on the internet to compare products from various cooperations. The internet enables us to read how other people who used the product felt it. This is an advantage that we cannot have when we visit in-person retailers. We can even buy the preferred one through virtual stores. Drawing from this example, we are too much dependent on the internet on numerous occasions. Thus we should prioritize supporting the underlying system of the internet.

Another reason is that the internet is not merely convenient but also helpful in emergent situations. My personal experience is a compelling example. When my friends and I were driving in a forest, we got lost in a forest after sunset. We got panicked so we did not hit upon a mere idea of making a phone call or locate myself using the GPS service. However, it was a fortunate that we could bring ourselves to look up on the internet and know what to do when lost in a forest. Luckily enough, we could get out of the forest by making a call to the nearest police and having police officers come. This experience tells us how crucial the internet is in emergency cases.

For these two reasons, the internet serves as a foundation of our digitized society. The lack or a defect of the internet system could lead to an unimaginable accident. Therefore, I support the idea that government should spend money on the improvement of the internet access rather than that of public transportation.