It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

It has been long debated about whether the government should spend more money to improve the Internet access than to improve the public transportation. From my perspective, I firmly believe that it is more important for the government to spend more money on the public transportation rather than on Internet access for two significant reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, that the public transportation is extremely useful in our everyday life. Spending the money on improving public transportation will benefit the commuters tremendously without doubt, saving them plenty of time for work and leisure. For example, my hometown was a crowded city filled with a population over ten million people. At that time we did not have subway and the roads were narrow. It is not hard to imagine what kind of traffic jam it would be during the rush hours. My mom would have to take the bus to commute, spending two hours in the morning and two in the evening, which made her exhausted. Things started to change when about five years ago, the city government started to invest in building subway and broadening the roads for the city. Now as more people can take the subway to commute, traffic becomes much better. The city is less crowded and busy. People spend less time commuting, including my mom, who now takes the subway to work and her time spending on commuting was cut down to only half an hour each way!

In addition to being useful to the commuters, it can be clearly seen that the public transportation benefits more people than Internet access. As is vastly acknowledged, not everyone in the society have access to the Internet. For many elders, new technology like Internet is still far away from their life. And the young children who usually only spend a small portion of their time surfing the Internet do not benefit significantly from the improvement of the Internet. However, we cannot deny that both of the young and the old take public transportation frequently. Therefore, spending money public transportation is really a necessity.

Admittedly, spending money on improving the Internet is needed, for nowadays people need better Internet access to work more productively. But the expenses are huge compared to which spent on the public transportation. I do not think that it is worthy to spend so much on things many cannot use. Another thing we need to consider is that most of the Internet services are provided by private companies. It will be difficult for the government to interfere with business. The companies, who need to compete fiercely in order to win customers, are improving and providing better access to the user. Hence, there is no need for the government to spend that much money to improve Internet access.

To sum up, I strongly believe that it is more important for the government to spend more money on the public transportation rather than on Internet access, for the public transportation is more conducive to the general public than the improvement on Internet access.