It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

A friend is someone who sticks with you through thick and thin. Someone whom you can rely on for anything and reveal your darkest secrets. Personally, I believe that keeping older friends is more important than making new friends. I feel this way for 2 reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, old friends have been with you for a long time. They are those people with whom you grew up and because of this, they can understand you better. The friendship established in childhood is artless as it is not driven by any kind purpose behind it. Because of these bonds made in childhood are unbreakable. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Even when I have moved thousands of miles away from my hometown, I am still in contact with my school friends. We still keep in touch and even know when I am in serious need of advice I seek their help. The friends I have in my workplace are fun to talk to but, as soon as you need a favor from them they vanish leaving you helpless.

Secondly, old friends know your strength and weakness better. New friendship takes time to develop as each partner is not aware of the likes and dislikes of others, compared to this we are already past this and they know how you will behave in a certain situation. Hence, an old friend can give a clear picture of what is good and bad for you. For instance, when I was in high school and was starting to apply for colleges, I was keen to apply for medical just because my parents wanted me to become a doctor, however, it was my best friend who made me realize that this dream is not my own and I will have to live with this decision for the rest of my life. It was only because of him I was able to change my mind and pursue something which I was truly interested in.

In conclusion, an old friend is definitely more important than a new friend because of the aforementioned points. As the old adage says "Old is gold", we should do everything in our power to protect our relationship with old friends as those friends last life time.