The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument suggests that its company should discontinue stocking imported cheese and rather concentrate primarily on domestic cheese as all the five best selling cheeses of their newest store were domestic. The author further supports his argument by citing the recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine which indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses. The argument at first sounds very cogent, however, scrutiny reveals the flaws in the argument.

First of all, the author doesn't provide any evidence to show how many stores they own and how diversely they are located. Without such information making an assumption just based on their newest store is flimsy. It is possible that the newest store is located in a very small rural area and most of its other stores and located in urban cities. In such a case, the opinion of the people of rural areas cannot speak for the people of urban areas. If the above is true, it makes the author's argument weak.

Secondly, the author backs his argument from the survey conducted by the Cheeses of the World magazine. However, the author doesn't provide any evidence to show how many subscribers the magazine has and how diverse they are. If the magazine has a very small number of subscribers or the subscribers doesn't belong to the areas where the stores are located then any conclusion based on such a survey is prone to failure. In such a case, the author's argument doesn't hold water.

Finally, even if the magazine survey is considered it doesn't provide any figurative data to support its claim that preference for domestic cheeses is increasing. For example, the preference for domestic cheese was at 10% last year compared to 90% for imported and it has increased to 15% this year. In such a case, though the preference has increased for domestic it is still a lot less than imported chess. Thus, the author's argument to discontinue stocking imported cheese for domestic will backfire making the author's argument flawed.

In conclusion, the author's argument to concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses though posited in good faith is filled with unwarranted assumptions which make the argument less persuasive. The author needs to provide more evidence and figurative data to further support his claim and make his argument strong. However, as it stands the argument is flawed.