It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

After entering the internet era, innumerable information is waiting to flux into our brains and we have so many ways to access news, which is a double-edged sword because it gives us more choices as well as forces us to make choices in case of getting missed. Under this circumstance, some people hold that it is more important to get news from people whose views are different from ours than from people whose views are similar to ours. From my perspective, I am in favor of this view because I consider it beneficial for both our thinking patterns and cooperative work in the future to obtain news from people holding different views.

Firstly, reading and watching news presented by people from different perspectives prompt us to figure out the different sides of news in case of having partial understanding based on our limited knowledge. It is known that we only have limited energy and time to learn expertise in a specific field so that we are likely to observe something in a familiar but partial way. Therefore, getting news from other persons with different opinions gives us opportunities to treat a thing from a fresh aspect. For instance, I once heard of a piece of news from a friend that a white shark ate a swimming person in the sea and my first opinion about this news was that white sharks are too brutal. However, this friend majored in biology told me that actually, we couldn’t blame the white shark too much because the cause of this tragedy might not be the brutality of the white shark but the swimmer's ignorance about the marked swimming area. What drove the white shark to attack swimmers is always its territorial awareness rather than the nature of brutality because they don’t like to eat human flesh as food. His view broadened my knowledge as well as helped me have a more comprehensive understanding of the news.

Secondly, obtaining news from people holding different views helps us to gain the ability to understand others’ words when working with other people. If you only get news from people holding similar views as you, it is hard for you to know possible opinions from others’ perspectives. Furthermore, you are going to be trapped in your own world, having difficulties in discussing with your co-workers, which must be an obstacle of your career. A vivid example comes from one of my talented roommates, he is talented in data science and willing to regard everything in the world as expressions of maths. However, he cares about nothing beyond his field which makes him hard to cooperate with others. He failed many times when applying for jobs since he has trouble understanding the essence of questions asked by HRs. It is admitted that he may not need to work in a big company, however, the failure of applying for a job hurt his confidence to some extent. This pity actually can be solved if he spends a little of his time communicating with people from other perspectives.

To conclude, I insist that getting news from people holding different views is more important than from people with the same views as you.