It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

It is true that people need to understand the world around them to find their purpose in life. For that, they have to explore the world and for exploring the world science is the only tool. However, some people may think that it's crucial for students to learn ideas and concepts but since science is based on facts, I think it's more important that they learn facts.

One reason is that learning ideas and concepts prevent students from creativity, it can push them to focus on someone else's line of thinking rather than trying to be creative. For example when you teach a student the idea of global warming you just gave a vague concept that he or she couldn't even picture it, but if you gave the student the facts about global warming like changing the cycle of seasons it could make the student to observe the features of seasons and think on that matter. So you can't push students through existing ideas and expect them to be creative thus it's better to teach them the facts that they can build their ideas on them

Another reason is that students can be inclined to one idea that they learn first and refute other counterpart ideas that have different visions. For example if you teach them that humans need to expand the food product so they can cop the global food problem it could make them agree with deforesting and turning them to farming lands, but if you teach them the fact that we can't live without preserving nature it will give them a picture that how they should treat the nature. So it's more important for students to understand the fact.