It is sometimes said that borrowing money from a friend can harm or damage the friendship. Do you agree? Why or why not? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

Some people believe that borrowing money from a friend has some negative aspects and can either harm or damage a friendship. Personally, I believe that helping out a friend by leading some money, and getting it back on time won't hurt the friendship. I think it will strengthen the friendship, that is why I firmly disagree with the statement.

Financial situations have existed for so long and it is known that at some point one can face it. That is why some people must build strong bonds with friends throughout their life. If a financial situation rises, people know who they can count with. For example, when a friend had a health medical emergency in the previous month and is unable to pay his rent. He knows who would help him because they have formed a strong bond that makes them believe that they are for each other.

Moreover, a friend who has helped a friend in need is more likely to receive help in return. Borrowing money does not necessarily damage a friendship as far as it is paid back. For instance, a few years ago, I borrowed from a friend's $200, I promised him that I would pay it back the following week. However, the following week I was unable to work the entire week and my payment was short. I called on the day I promised my friend that I would repay him. I also explained why I was not able to pay him back. He understood me, and he thanked me for being honest with him. Fortunately, I repay him the coming week, since then, our friendships became even stronger than before.

On the other hand, people who often think that borrowing money from a friend can damage the friendship are because they have had bad experiences. For example, if a person borrows some money and does not pay it back. This action might bring some misunderstanding and people can start believing that a friendship is pointless. As a result, their friendship might fall apart. Additionally, some people are afraid to lend money to their new friends because they have unpleasant feelings and it is hard for them to believe again in a friendship. Friendship can also be damaged due to miscommunication.

Overall, a healthy and strong friendship is built on trust, love, communication, and empathy. Many people have lost the meaning of these words as a result of negative past experiences, but deep down they know that good friendship is still possible.