Leaders like John F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King have made important contributions to the people of the United States. Name another world leader you think is important. Give reasons and specific examples for your choice.

Another important leader who needs to take place between John F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King is Mustafa Kemal Ataturk. Mustafa Kemal was a Turkish field marshal, revolutionary statesman and founder of Modern Turkey. He was the first president from 1923 until his death in 1938.

Mustafa Kemal came to prominence for his role in securing the Ottoman Turkish victory at the Battle of Gallipoli during World War one. After the World War one finished he started to abolish Ottoman Empire, at the same time he started to proclaim the foundation of the Turkish Republic. At 29 October 1923 Turkey was declared as a Republic. After the declaration of the Turkish Republic was held a first presidential election and Mustafa Kemal was selected to be President.

As the President of the newly formed Turkish Republic, he made rigorous political, cultural and economic reforms. He thought that modernization and Westernization are important for the country to develop. He did this with studying Western law and policy and then adapted their structure for the people of Turkey. He replaced the Arabic alphabet with Latin, introduced Gregorian calendar and urged people to dress in Western clothes. Furthermore, he separated religion from the politic, opened more new schools and introduced free education. Also, he made a lot of infrastructure changes as a railway network and opened state factories. The most important thing he did was giving equal civil and political rights to the women. Moreover, in 1934 he introduced surnames and then the Turkish Parliament gave him the Ataturk surname which means `Father of the Turks`.

In my opinion, Mustafa Kemal Ataturk needs to take place between John F. Kennedy and Marthin Luther King, because he changed the country from the roots, developed and contributed a lot of Turkish people. Moreover, he won a lot of battles and defended the country.