A lot of students decide to start college right away after graduate school while others believe that it’s much more beneficial to take a gap year. Which do you prefer?

A lot of students decide to start college right away after graduate school while others take a gap year after graduate school. In my opinion, it’s much more beneficial to take a gap year because of three main reasons:

Firstable, students’ studying at college is very stressful, therefore, they need some time to be ready for college. And taking a gap year offer students some time to relax before attending college. Futhermore, students who take a gap year tend to be much more focused and perform well in college. While at the other end of the scale, students who start college right after finishing high school usually get stressful because of their huge workload. I would take my neighbor as an example, he went to Cambridge University at the age of 18; and after a semester studying at Cambridge, he got overloaded and had to drop college. Then he took a gap year and applied to college again; now he is performing pretty well at another university.

Second, students might get a chance to explore themselves in a gap year. A student might have a better idea of the study direction he or she would like to pursue. Students don’t want to choose the wrong study field at college because that would affect them a lot! My cousin attended college immediately after graduate school, and he wanted to become a pharmacist since pharmacists made much money. However, after finish studying, he found working at the drudgery store boring; and he retook college. Now, he is a sorfware developer and he wasted all the time in university learning medicines. Also, in a gap year time, a student can discover a hidden passion!

Finally, taking a gap year, students get a chance to do volunteer works or to make their own projects. Doing works for the community helps to make remarkable improvement on students’ skills. For instance, working on an environmental project for your local community would improve your teamwork skill, your knowledge about the environment and many others. Moreover, a student’s project might even improve his or her job opportunities since companies now care a lot about people’s previous experience.

In conclusion, taking a gap year make students more confident and ready for college. For that reason, I’m going to take a gap year after finishing high school.