[TPO 22] Teacher should not make their political or social views in the classroom.

Whether teachers should talk to students about their social or political views in the classroom or not remains much controversial. Many people argues that teachers should tell students about their social opinions. However, I disapprove of this idea because of two main reasons: students' misunderstanding and negative behaviors.

To begin with, if teachers have unlikely opinions of a person or a social problems, students are likely to approve of the view, misunderstanding the plot. The teachers might sometimes have misunderstanding of social problems. Therefore, students, who tend to learn what their teachers say, would be likely to have the same misunderstanding as their teachers. A famous math teacher in my school, Mr. Luong, would be a perfect illustration for this. In his class, he often tells us that math is the only way to succeed and he undervalues other careers than mathematicians. Thanks to him, most students in my class have the same viewpoints. As a result, many people in my class stop doing social voluntary work to focus on studying math. In contrast, if the teacher just kept his opinion in mind, the situation would not have happened.

In addition, when students believe in their teachers views, they can have negative behavior. Students are not as mature as their teachers; thereby, by teachers telling them some of their social views, they can have unexpected actions which could lead to bad consequences. For instance, when my old teacher showed his contemptuous for helpers, I had the same views as him. After that, I went home and told her that she was not important, and I laughed at her. When I am older, I realized that every jobs are equally important and that my behaviors were wrong. That's one of the example that teachers' social views can lead to students' bad behaviors. Another example is when my Chemistry teacher talked about Mr. Donald Trump - the current U.S President. He told me that Donald Trump was not intelligent and he became rich not because of his efforts. Thus, I had bad impression on Donald Trump and posts bad things of him on Facebook. Not long after, I accidentally read a book about Mr. Trump, and I changed my mind. Those are the reasons why teachers' political and social views can lead to students' unexpected behavior.

In conclusion, teacher should not tell students their social views in classroom due to students' misunderstanding of the issues and their unexpected following behavior.