Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Different people hold different social and political views. Is it necessary to make teachers' social or political views known to students in the classroom? I think it is not very important.

Firstly, it will do no help to the teaching process. In the lectures, all we do is to study and the knowledge that we are studying have nothing to do with the social and political views. Moreover, it will be a waste of time to do if your students have no interest at all and they are just here to study. I have one chemistry teachers before. She liked to talk about her social or political views in class. However, most of the students are not interested in what she thought and asked her to start the class as soon as possible because she always wasted a lot of time on the political stuff rather than teaching the knowledge we should learn. Showing social views or political views can be a waste of time and not good for studying the knowledge I should have gained in this class.

Secondly, speaking out social and political views may make teachers closer to their students. Speaking out that can let your students know more about you and think you are not just a teacher or a stranger but a friend, because you are willing to share what you think with them. This works well with the students hold the same view with that teachers. Nevertheless, if they hold different opinions, it may cause trouble. Some students are too naïve to know how to deal with different opinions from others, which may make them think teachers are their enemy, no matter how kind and warm-hearted that teacher is. To make matters worse, they might refuse teachers’ help and skip the class taught by the teachers they do not like. All these will ruin their academic achievement. In order to avoid this, teachers should be silent.

Thirdly, students lack life experience and they may treat their teachers as their hero and copy what they did. Actually, students are really young. What is more, they have not founded their perspective of the world. If teachers poured too much their personal ideas in their head, it may influence the formation of their thoughts. I think teachers should tell everything subjectively and offer a lot of opinions to their students, which can help students form their ideas, instead of only telling them the inner thought made by themselves. If teachers cannot do that, silence is a better way to avoid the misleading of students.

In conclusion, teachers should not show their social and political views to their students because it may cause bad influence on students and influence the class.