Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Leadership comes naturally; one cannot learn to be a leader. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people want to be a leader. Being a leader can bring a strong sense of self-achievement to us. Good leaders can also earn a lot of money. Many people believed that Leadership came naturally. It is impossible to learn to become a leader. I did not agree with that.

Firstly, being a leader requires experience. The experience is where we learned. We need to work hard in the team and learn how a team operate and what should be paid attention to within a big project and so on. No boss will feel comfortable if he assign a leader who did not have any experience in the group. Lack of experience will be a big problem. I did a case study before. It is a software team. Its leader did not have any experience. He did not know how much time they needed to finish the software. He estimated the time without any spare time, due to his lack of experience, which meant that they cannot make any mistakes. Otherwise, they did not have any time to fix that. The plan satisfied the customer, because according to the plan, it cost less time than he expected. However, after they worked on that, they found it impossible to finish the project within that time period, because they kept making mistakes. In order to finish that within the time period, they chose to ignore the mistakes they made, which cause disaster in the end. The software cannot work at all. If a experienced programer became a leader, he will assign some time for checking mistakes according to his past experience.

Besides experience, the leader should learn how to communicate with each other in the team. A team without any communication cannot be treated as a team. Nobody can be a good communicater without practicing that. My dad is a leader in many projects. He said when he was young, he was bad-templed and did not know how to communicate with each other. He screwed up some projects, because of this. He was critisized by his boss. Then he calmed himself down and observed what his leader would do to communicate. He learned a lot and finally he became a leader in the group. Communication skills required should be learnt.

In conclusion, I think one can learn to be a leader and learning is necessary, due to a good leader needs experience and good communication skills.