Many people believe that greed, or the desire to have more wealth than other people have, is a bad characteristic; people who are greedy are often considered selfish or unkind. However, some people argue that greed is actually a good characteristic for a person to have because greedy people will work harder than others to become successful. Do you believe that greed can be a good characteristic? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Someone has rightly said that greed can lead to a destruction a person hilmself and that of those surrounding him. Greed is a bad characteristic and in no way should be considered as good characteristic.

Greedy person may work harder to become successful, but greedy person are much concerned about acquiring wealth and achieving success rather than the path they follow to achieve success. They don't care how they achieve success they just want to become successful. This can have effect on other people life. For example, there are businessmen who traps innocent poor people in traps and made them work more and pay less. There are lot of industrialist who have installed cheap chimneys that affects environment harmfully.

Moreover, Greedy people are never satisfied they want even more and more. Greedy people are never internally satisfied. So, by working hard they are achieving success and materilaistic things, but it do no benefit to their inner satisfaction. For example, we have many succesful people becoming depressed and leaving their job or business to go in rehab.

Furthermore, Greedy people can fall to traps, can fall prey to cheats. Greedy people want to achieve wealth and success as fast as they can in whichever way. Sometimes they are in a hurry and in greed to achieve things and can fall prey to cheats. For example, many greedy fall prey to a cheat company as they fooled people that they will double money for double work. Greedy people infatuated by the offer, does not pay attention to all the information regarding the company, later on they found out that company was a fraud and they did extra work for no money.

Additionally, greedy people are more concerned about money and they do enjoy other pleasures of life. Pleasure like spending quality time with family and friends.

So i think greed acts as more of a hindrance for achieving wealth as well as internal peace.