Many people have a close relationship with their pets. These people treat their birds, cats, or other animals as members of their family. In your opinion are such relationships good or not? Why?

From ancient times, animals have played an essential role in people's lives. Most individuals manifest deep affection for their pets, considering them as a part of the family. From my point of view, these kinds of bonds are highly beneficial for humans, due to the fact that pets offer help and unconditional love. I will explain my statement, in the following essay.

To begin with, animals can provide both therapeutic facilities and assistance for persons who suffer from physical disabilities. Some pets such as birds, cats or dogs are able to respond back when they receive affection from their owners, thus, it is a win-win situation since both parts experience positive feelings. I heard people saying that, after a long hard-working day, they enjoy spending evenings playing with their pets, because it helps them to release the stress accumulated during day. Moreover, trained dogs are used by blind people for guidance and for traveling from one place to another. In addition, some of these dogs are able to anticipate if their master is on the verge to suffer a heart attack or other similar medical conditions. Generally, when they feel that something bad is going to happen, they warn that person by barking or becoming agitated. I have recently seen a documentary that presented numerous cases where specialized dogs saved lives of hundreds.

Secondly, pets are beings that show devotion and tenderness without asking anything in exchange. Animals have more developed senses than humans, so they know how to treat us. They are aware if we are sad or happy. Sometimes they even try to comfort the people who are not in good spirits, other times they show endless empathy. I can speak from my own past. Back in college, I had a dog called Bobby. One day I received a very unpleasant news, and short after I experienced depression. My dog was aware of my mental state and he did not leave me, nor for one minute. He was joining me even in the bathroom. He even tried to cheer me up by doing somersaults. Most of the time I was laying down in bed, till one day when he decided to pull me out from there. Thanks to my loving dog, I understood that I have to do something to recover myself.

To sum up, animals are definitely a significant part of any family. This is because pets influence our mood in a positive way and because they are real friends.